The Juanita Brooks Prize will be awarded to the best monograph submitted to the Press in the subject area of Mormon Studies related to history, biography, or culture. To compete for this award, manuscripts must emphasize research in primary and secondary sources and quality writing in the tradition of Juanita Brooks. The winning manuscript will demonstrate a commitment to scholarly narrative writing that also appeals to more general readers. The winner of the Juanita Brooks Prize will receive a $10,000 award and a publication contract with The University of Utah Press.

Submission deadlines are in even numbered years.

Prize Submission Guidelines

  • Manuscripts must be in English and double-spaced in a 12-point font and should include all contemplated figures. Photocopies of figures are acceptable for initial consideration.
  • Manuscript length is limited to a maximum of 200,000 words.
  • Manuscripts must be postmarked by August 2020. Early submissions are encouraged. If you desire proof of delivery, send the manuscript using a delivery confirmation service.
  • Manuscripts that do not win the Juanita Brooks Prize may also be considered for book publication.
  • Manuscripts will not be returned and will be recycled after the competition.
  • Simultaneous submissions are not permitted.
  • Portions of submitted manuscripts may have appeared previously in journals or anthologies, but previously published monographs will not be considered.
  • The competition is open to all authors except current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Utah. Current and former employees of the University of Utah Press are not eligible for the prize.
  • All submissions should include a cover letter indicating that this is a submission for the Juanita Brooks Prize, printed and electronic copies of the complete manuscript (including all illustrations and supplementary materials), and a copy of your most recent c.v.

A panel of three judges will select the winning manuscript. This panel includes Robert Goldberg, Professor of History and Director of the Tanner Humanities Center, University of Utah; Laurie Maffly-Kipp, Archer Alexander Distinguished Professor in the Humanities, Washington University in St. Louis; and Richard E. Turley Jr., Assistant Church Historian, The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. The decision of the judges is final. The Brooks Prize will be awarded biennially; however, the Press reserves the right to make no award in any given year.

Please send all submissions to:

The University of Utah Press
c/o The Juanita Brooks Prize
J. Willard Marriott Library
295 South 1500 East, Suite 5400
Salt Lake City, Utah 84112-0860

Previous Winners:

2015 Winner: Making Lamanites: Mormons, Native Americans, and  the Indian Student Placement Program, 1947-2000 by Matthew Garrett

2013 Winner: A Frontier Life: Jacob Hamblin, Explorer and Indian Missionary by Todd M. Compton