New Books from the U of U Press


Supplying Custer: The Powder River Supply Depot, 1876

Gerald R. Clark

A historical and archaeological investigation of a field supply depot used to support Custer's cavalry.


Ice, Fire, and Nutcrackers: A Rocky Mountain Ecology

George Constantz

An ecologist reveals the remarkable adaptations of Rocky Mountain plants and animals.


Outlawing Genocide Denial: The Dilemmas of Official Historical Truth

Guenter Lewy

Considers the implications of criminalizing genocide denial.


Join Our Email List
Receive periodic updates on new books 
and special offers by signing up.

Current Catalog

PDF | Past Catalogs

calendar icon

Upcoming Events

Ongoing through Thursday, October 8, 2015

"What Goes Around Comes Around" - An E...

Thursday, September 3, 2015, 2 – 10pm


Friday, September 4 – Wednesday, November 25, 2015

Women's Studio Workshop - An Exhibitio...

Wednesday, September 9 – Sunday, November 1, 2015

SHHHHHH! - A Rare Books Exhibition


News & Updates




Visit us at these upcoming conferences and events:

Rocky Mountain Anthropological Conference (RMAC)
September 24-27, 2015, Steamboat Springs, CO

2015 Annual Utah State History Conference
October 2, 2015, Salt Lake City, UT

American Folklore Society (AFS)
October 14-17, 2015, Long Beach, CA

Western History Association (WHA)
October 21-24, 2015, Portland, OR

9th Annual Salt Lake county Watershed Symposium
November 18-19, 2015, Salt Lake City, UT

Recent Awards:

Congratulations to our award-winning authors!

  • Julie Neuffer won the Mormon History Association's Best Biography Award 2015 for her book Helen Andelin and the Fascinating Womanhood Movement.

  • Jeff Metcalf, author of Requiem for the Living, received the Mayor’s Award in Literary Arts at the Utah Arts Festival in 2015.

  • Lily Havey's book Gasa Gasa Girl Goes to Camp has been selected as part of AAUP's Best of the Best from University Presses and it won the Evans Biography Award. It was also a finalist in the Trade Book Illustrated category of the Southwest Book Design & Production Award.

  • Gary and Rose Neeleman won First Place in the International Latino 2015 Book Awards for Best Book in Nonfiction, Originally in Portuguese for their book Tracks in the Amazon.

  • Kim Young was a finalist for the Kate Tufts Discovery Award for her book  Night Radio.  Click  here  to see the award announcement.


Press Prizes:

Glen Rice won the Don D. and Catherine S. Fowler Prize for his manuscript, "Sending the Spirits Home."

Sara Wallace won the Agha Shahid Ali Poetry Prize for her manuscript, "The Rival."

 Last Modified 8/10/15